Skip to Content

Customer Reviews

Pella of Traverse City brings professional tips about, and installation of, finely built windows and doors. We’ve got the products and services you want for your window or door replacement designs, but don’t take our word for it. Discover what other homeowners are saying about us.

4.4/5 stars based on 91 reviews
Average customer rating in the last 12 months
Showing Most Recent Reviews (last 12 months)
Matt & Lynn H.
Holland, MI
7/29/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
Look & Quality
Irene F.
Caledonia, MI
7/26/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
Quality
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
All the mess was cleaned up.
Harold & Sherry B.
Portage, MI
7/22/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
Previous experience with Pella
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
All went smoothly
Warren D.
Grand Rapids, MI
7/22/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
Confidence in brand, have previously purchased Pella.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Installation crew replaced extra outside trim to match the new trim.
Michael M.
Dewitt, MI
7/22/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
Quality
Paul A.
Paw Paw, MI
7/19/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
Quality and function
Hannah W.
Grand Rapids, MI
7/18/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
I wanted energy efficient windows with blinds encased in the window. These are perfect.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
No.
Elizabeth N.
Charlotte, MI
7/11/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
My father installed Pella windows in his office, family room, and guest bedroom. All the windows are fine and he has had then for 2 years now.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
The installer supervisor was excellent.
Tige W.
Kalamazoo, MI
7/08/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
Ease of financing Reputation Previous Pella customer
Richard R.
South Boardman, MI
7/01/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
the salesman
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
the install was scheduled for two days.i came home from the hospital on the second day . the crew was very co-opperative and really good about working around me and talking to me. they finished in two days.
Laura P.
Kalamazoo, MI
7/01/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
quality has always been the best
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
very positive
Angela M.
Grand Rapids, MI
7/01/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
Known for quality
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
No
Brian S.
Caledonia, MI
6/28/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
The home had existing Pella windows and our last home in Traverse City, Michigan, had them also. Very happy with everything Pella.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Your entire team, from sales to install. No worries.
Harold C.
Jackson, MI
6/26/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
Technology involved in your windows.
Robert C.
Kalamazoo, MI
6/26/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
Quality.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
No
Richard M.
Vicksburg, MI
6/25/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
Value for price.
Michael M.
Hudsonville, MI
6/24/2019
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Positive sales rep was very courteous and the install team was very professional. Negative was the three visits to get err done.
Lin L.
Holland, MI
6/20/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
The original windows were Pella and I wanted to stay with them
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
I think the crew needed more training. They used my 2ft level to plumb the windows. I asked them not to smoke on the job. They were outside. They were very good about it.
Jeremy R.
Comstock Park, MI
6/18/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
The warranty, and I have never had any issues with any of the pella windows that I have installed. The sales team is also very up front and honest which makes it easier to get what I am looking for.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Sales man met with me when it worked for me and was conscious of my time and we moved right through the process.
Alice N.
Lansing, MI
6/18/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
Wanted visual appearance from road and inside to be the same.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Outdoor trim was damaged a bit, needs to be painted, the installers did not mention to us. I am sure it is normal to happen, just thought they might inform me. Installers were very efficient and thoughtful. Carried window into home so we could see if stain was a close match.
David & Ruthann C.
Charlotte, MI
6/10/2019
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Installation crew, Sales representative, and the 2nd installation team, were all polite, courteous, and willing to stay until the job was completed.
Lori C.
Portage, MI
6/10/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
I expected pella to be good quality. The salesman pushed the 250 series as best bang for the buck. Anderson's renewal was much more expensive. I am disappointed in quality. Some of the windows seem loose. Screens, while better after getting replacements, seem flimsy. Installer actually bent one trying to straighten it to fit properly. For money spent I expected better.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Just overall disappointment in quality of Pella 250, but the employees and installers were very nice.
Steven L.
Harbor Springs, MI
5/14/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
Quality
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Sales Jake and Installer Mike were both excellent.
Bob K.
Traverse City, MI
5/13/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
Online reviews, consideration of the sales rep, and the overall style of the windows led me to choose Pella.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Both the sales representative and the installer were exceptionally knowledgeable and professional, and made the process very easy. They say you know you're a grown up when you get excited to have windows installed... I found out I'm a grown up.
Brenda A.
Bay City, MI
5/13/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
had them at another home
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
so far so good
Ron B.
Houghton Lake, MI
5/08/2019
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
all good
Edward L.
Paw Paw, MI
5/08/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
Reputation
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
no
Sarah B.
Spring Lake, MI
5/07/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
The price was right and Rodger our sales rep was very knowledgeable.
Brian M.
Lowell, MI
4/29/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
Quality
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Good with exceptions to the screens
Scott K.
Jenison, MI
4/01/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
Cost and good customer service
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Great experience. Installers were excellent
Charles K.
Holland, MI
3/18/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
Required wood on the inside.
Don V.
Grand Rapids, MI
2/25/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
Quality of construction and install.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Install crew kept us informed of delays and gave us options. They ended up staying late to get the job done.
Melanie H.
Augusta, MI
2/18/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
The original windows in our home are Pella and they are over 40 years old. We were hoping if we spent the extra money that we would have our new windows for another 40. Not confident about our decision yet.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
The positive is that we definitely notice the rooms with new windows are warmer than the rooms with old windows. Negative is how they looked after installation. Was also surprised to see snow/ice buildup on windows when it got below freezing.
Christine S.
Grand Haven, MI
2/15/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
your reputation for quality/previous installation of pella windows this location
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
not particularly
Rob C.
Harbor Springs, MI
2/08/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
Quality and the visit to the Pella Store in Grand Rapids. A great opportunity to see each option available.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
It would have been nice to have a follow up call from our sales person. I never heard from him once we placed the order. The multiple trips due to the loading and miss measuring issues were the only negative. Overall, we are patient people. The quality and installation were excellent.
Joe C.
Allendale, MI
2/05/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
Known name brand
Leon P.
Wayland, MI
1/21/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
Great window reputation. Not as expensive as we thought. Salesman friend of our son.
Tracey H.
Grand Rapids, MI
1/14/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
quality of windows
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
the installation team was very late but did finish and had nice team work.
Barbara N.
Manton, MI
1/07/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
The door....the one we were looking for! Quality, as well as, appearance. Fit the style of our home. Easy care.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
It happened so quickly...it was like going to the store, buying it, and taking it home with you to install without all the work!
Doug S.
Byron Center, MI
1/04/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
SALES PERSON . USER FRIENDLY. GREAT PRESINTATION. DO NOT CARE FOR ANDERSON COMPANY DUE TO THE ARROGANT ATTITUDE THAT THEY HAVE. THEY ARE NOT USER FRIENDLY AT ALL . DUSTIN WAS GREAT.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
LESS THAN GREAT INSTALL.
Karen K.
Jenison, MI
1/02/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
A friend recommended the company and I wanted a quality product.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Not particularly...
Abby D.
Grandville, MI
1/02/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
Pella has a long-standing good reputation and quality products. I loved the financing option because we really needed to spread out the payment in order to afford new windows when our daughter accidentally broke one. It was an unexpected cost, so I love the 0% interest for 48 months. We can manage that. Thanks!
Rebecca C.
Caledonia, MI
1/02/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
Price and quality product with a good reputation.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
The installation team was very professional
Tim M.
Wyoming, MI
12/31/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
salesman was very knowledgeable, gave us a good price and got us on the schedule before the end of the year
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
all of the staff that came to our house were very nice and took their time to do a good job. just not completely the job on the first try was frustrating
Brigid S.
Grand Rapids, MI
12/28/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Good quality. I hopefully won't have to worry about my windows for the rest of the time that I own my home.
Mike S.
Grand Rapids, MI
12/26/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Good balance of quality and cost = value.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Great sales person in Dustin. Very efficient install team and exceptional cleanup after the job.
Ingrid A.
Grand Rapids, MI
12/26/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
The house has a a pella sliding door and it has outstanding performance. We thought the 250 series of double hung windows would be the same.Craftmanship doesn't look the best. I've been inspecting the windows carefully, some of the borders seem to be thincker than others, some of the edges are not consistent in craftmanship. The weather has not been cold enough to know if they will perform well in the very cold weather.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
The crew leader was very knowledgeable, and definitely the one that moved the rest of the crew to keep them on track. Very apologetic because they were not using their usual truck and thus did not have all they needed. They were not equiped with the screw tops that cover all screws on the window. They were not given to me on the first installation from last year either.
Karen R.
Comstock Park, MI
12/16/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
They had done service with me before
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
The foam insulation was used sparingly on the slider. When I asked the contractor; his comment was it will puff up, but it never increased in size. Plus he didn't add any extra to fill in the space. And the outside door trim was dented on one side with the other side cut up on two of the edges where water and snow can get in creatin damage to the wood
Arthur G.
Grand Rapids, MI
12/13/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Quality, design features, materials, and reputation.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Our salesman informed us honestly about our wait time for windows we chose. So it was no surprise when install dates changed. Communication about delays were great. Install team was very professional did an amazing job.
Joyce D.
Traverse City, MI
12/13/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
The sales rep was very knowledgeable and very patient while I decided my choices. The Pella reputation is that of high quality and great workmanship along with backing up the product.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
I was very impressed with the installation crews. There was no down time for them while on the job...they were diligent and focused. They also made sure we were as comfortable as possible in our home while they completed the work.
Mike G.
Kalamazoo, MI
12/10/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Custom home requiring custom product
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Communication process with sales representative could be improved.
Bret C.
Dorr, MI
12/10/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Wanted the blinds inside the window, and sliding screen door.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
The installation workers were very friendly and polite.
Julie L.
Portage, MI
12/10/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Recommendation from a friend initially. But we compared prices and service with another company. Although we were very impressed with the other windows as well and the installation and windows with the other company would have been less money, the service that the other company provided was not good -- rep didn't communicate, was late to our initial meeting, seemed overwhelmed and unfocused. In addition, the other company did not provide a complete service -- meaning that we would have to finish and install the trim, etc. Because of our busy lives, it was wonderful that Pella provided the primed and painted trim so the job was complete. THANK YOU!
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Great experience
Tom & Melody W.
Northport, MI
12/06/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Part of the choice had to do with geographic availability (in other words, Pella was available to our location in Northport, Michigan, and some other window vendors were not geographically available). However, during the sales presentations, the quality of the Pella windows was clearly apparent. We trusted that the installation would also be high-quality, and it was.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
The sales conversations (two visits: one with one spouse present and one with both of us present) were informative, thorough, and not high-pressure. The installation was high-quality and professional, with great attention to detail.
David D.
Hudsonville, MI
12/04/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Reputation for quality and professionalism of sales consultant.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
I was very pleased with how the window trim looks inside.
Curtis F.
Rives Junction, MI
12/04/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
We build our home 19 years ago and had Pella windows installed when we built. So just replaced pella windows with pella windows that went bad.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
The installer was very good and timely with the replacements.
Mike S.
Muskegon, MI
11/26/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
We did a lot of shopping prior to choosing Pella, but it was a no brainer once we evaluated all of the products side by side. The look and feel, along with the fair price just made too much sense. If you can help me find my missing screen that didn't come with one of my big windows, I would be a 11 out of 10 :)
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
It was a good experience
Marko B.
Petoskey, MI
11/26/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Reputation.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Windows look great. Salesman - Jake was knowledgeable and friendly. I was surprised that I needed to paint the ends of the trim after installation was complete. I also needed to paint the front faces of the interior trim to hide the marks where the nails went in. I thought that both of those things would would have been done as part of the installation. Took me about two hours when accounting for buying matching paint, taping, and painting.
Dennis K.
Fife Lake, MI
11/26/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
reputation in the industry
Kai D.
Ada, MI
11/23/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Reputation. However, these Windows are not living up to their name, which is my only and CHIEF complaint. These windows actually allow the cold in I'm going to be contacting my Pella representative to address the issue with him
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Service and sales are great. The window quality not so
Luke V.
Byron Center, MI
11/20/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
I have an older home (built in 1865) and the architect series really fit the character of my home.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Negatives: lack of correspondence from the sales rep after the completion of the sale, lack of clear product installation guides for the Pella Architect series windows.
Larry S.
Glen Arbor, MI
11/19/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
my husband made the decision
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
good people but break down on communications in a huge way
Ann W.
Midland, MI
11/19/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
The previous owner had replaced many of the windows in my home with Pella and I was pleased with the appearance and function of the windows. The sun room sliding door and windows were original to the house ( 60 years) and in very poor condition. I looked at Anderson replacement products but was very disappointed with their responsiveness. I was referred to a local lumber yard and their contact never returned my calls. Pella on the other hand referred me immediately to the consultant and quickly scheduled a home visit appointment
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
The responsiveness of everyone. The Consultant Tom walked me thru several style options to balance matching the other windows in my home with maximizing my view. I greatly appreciated the time he spent with me. All my questions were answered and I did not experience any concerns about my choices. The installation crew was efficient and thorough. They explained options and helped insure my new windows and doors would meet my needs.
Lori O.
Grand Rapids, MI
11/13/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
The quality is better. Sales reps very good.
Pamela H.
Merrill, MI
11/05/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Quality of product and installation
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
The install crew were great. The scheduler was very easy to work with. The sales person was very informative and helpful. Spot On!
Sue F.
Gaylord, MI
10/29/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
I got a discount flyer in the mail.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Just the long wait getting installation finished.
Carla K.
Sparta, MI
10/29/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Daughter purchased Pella and was very pleased with the product.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
They took a to long to get.
Greg N.
Grand Rapids, MI
10/25/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Good quality, offered the features we wanted.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Everything was fine.
John S.
Petoskey, MI
10/24/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Reputation for quality.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
The installer, Dennis had a great work ethics and seemed to be a perfectionist. We were extremely satisfied with his work.
Dan & Holly K.
Elk Rapids, MI
10/22/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Had Pella products in previous homes...always satisfied
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Yes, Larry...outstanding...he put the P back in Pella for us!
Lois B.
Holland, MI
10/17/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
I replaced my Pella door with a new one. I want feature with the shade in between pains like my older door.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
No
Sheri M.
Climax, MI
10/02/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Pella makes and installs their own products
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
everything went very well and quickly.
Deb & Gene J.
Shelbyville, MI
10/01/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
To match the remaining windows in the house
Bruce S.
Ada, MI
10/01/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
I saw an advertisement with a discount and I was very familiar with the Pella product. This offer drew my attention and I called. I recognize that Pella is, and has been, a top tier product for a long time.
Michael & Naomi B.
Harbor Springs, MI
9/23/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
The price was very competitive and the reputation of the products.
Yvonne B.
Dorr, MI
9/19/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
The Pella name is valued and the assistance at the Pella showroom was appreciated. Love the inside screen offered on the sliding door and the sun reflection glass in the window. The only thing we do not like is the condensation on the outside of the glass every morning and the fact that the sliding door movement and it's lock is very tight, requiring a solid tug to open/close.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Everyone very knowledgable about product and their job of installation. Friendly and courteous.
Erica S.
Portage, MI
9/18/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Pella's reputation for superior products, and a close family member's personal experience with a Pella window.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
The installation scheduling and process was less than expected for such a reputable company.
Mark R.
Millington, MI
9/18/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
All of our windows and door are pella so we wanted to keep everything the same
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Negative- the first contractors that installed our door very poorly Positive- the Pella employee that came back to fix the door did a great job
Gloria S.
Kalamazoo, MI
9/17/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
We live in a home that was built in 1927. Routinely over the last 10 years we have put in Pella windows. We have been very pleased with the product and the sales/service/installation people.
David C.
Grand Rapids, MI
9/10/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Because the quality and reputation of Pella and the cost was comparable to other quality brands. Also because of knowledge of the sales rep.
Matt M.
Petoskey, MI
9/10/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Quality and reputation as well as energy ratings
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Surprised by the efficiency of the install team. Appreciated them installing every unit correctly and not trying to cut any corners. Wish they had asked me to move two small items that were damaged. Wishing that the wait of fiberglass windows was not so lengthy or I would have gotten those
Lindsay C.
Kalamazoo, MI
9/10/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Thought you were the best company. This has not been the best experience yet we paid top dollar to get the best.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Just want the windows and all casings done.
Denise C.
Ionia, MI
9/05/2018
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Would like the hardware replaced
Cheryl T.
Kingsley, MI
8/23/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Quality and service.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Installation team was GREAT!!! Very professional and cleaned up afterwards!! Explained things and informed me of the fact they would inform the company of the defective door and handle. The ordering process was more detailed than I expected which is fine but I didn't expect the handles on the screens to be two different colors after having to pick a color for the actual door handle!!! Also all three of my doors were supposed to have the same key.... I have 12 different keys!!!! Yes 12!!!! I'm not a janitor and want only one key for all. I was specifically told they would all be the same key!!!
Matt C.
Portage, MI
8/20/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Price, professional staff and dedicated installers
Bruce M.
Traverse City, MI
8/17/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Quality and willingness of salesman and the installer to meet my needs in a custom job for bedroom.
Bernice B.
Owosso, MI
8/14/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
previous reputation
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
no
Glenda S.
Caledonia, MI
8/06/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Reputation and quality
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Just great
Ronald D.
Cadillac, MI
8/06/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
the reputation of Paella
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
No
Clifton K.
Carp Lake, MI
8/06/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Current window manufacturer rep was not responsive
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
No
Martha B.
Grand Ledge, MI
7/31/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
We needed a 3 panel gliding door to cover 12 feet. Pella offered the enclosed blinds and appeared to be the only company offering the blinds in the 4 foot width we needed for each panel.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
The installation crew did amazing work moving the 12 foot door into place without damage or incident.